APPENDIX 1

<u>APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES AND OTHER BODIES</u>

A. <u>MISCELLANEOUS APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE</u>

The Committee is requested to appoint the above Sub-Committee with the following Functions:-

- 1. To consider any appeal under the Rules and Regulations for the Operation of the Retail Markets.
- 2. To consider any other appeal(s) that are not covered by any of the other Committees or Sub-Committees of the City Council.

The Committee is requested to appoint the Chair and Members to the Sub-Committee as follows:-

5 Members (3 Lab: 1 Con: 1 Lib Dem) Quorum is 3 Members

2022/2023		2023/2024	
Cllr Marje Bridle	(Lab) – Chair	Cllr Marje Bridle	(Lab)
Cllr Mary Locke	(Lab)	Cllr Mary Locke	(Lab)
Cllr Shafique Shah	(Lab)	Cllr Shafique Shah	(Lab)
Cllr Gareth Moore	(Con)	Cllr Gareth Moore	(Con)
Cllr	(Lib Dem)	Cllr Penny Wagg	(Lib Dem)
		vvagg	

with Cllr Marje Bridle as Chair

B. <u>ELECTION MATTERS MEMBERS FORUM</u>

(out of proportionality rules)

The Committee is requested to appoint the above Forum with the following Functions:-

- 1. To recommend further improvements to the Elections Office and/or the Elections processes;
- 2. To be consulted over relevant consultation papers relating to the Elections Process;
- 3. To discuss issues that the Returning Officer may wish to raise with the Members

Forum.

The Committee is requested to appoint the Chair and Members to the Sub-Committee as follows:-

7 Members (4 Lab, 2 Con, 1 Lib Dem) Quorum is 3 Members

<u>2022/2023</u>		2023/2024	
Cllr Brigid Jones	(Lab)	Cllr Sharon	(Lab)
Cllr Saddak Miah	(Lab)	Thompson	(Lab)
		Cllr Brigid Jones	
Cllr lan Ward	(Lab) (Chair)	Cllr John Cotton	(Lab)
Cllr Des Hughes	(Lab)	Cllr Des Hughes	(Lab)
Cllr Robert Alden	(Con)	Cllr Robert Alden	(Con)
Cllr Timothy Huxtable	(Con)	Cllr Timothy Huxtable	(Con)
Cllr Jon Hunt	(Lib Dem)	Cllr Jon Hunt	(Lib Dem)
		::I OII I I O !!	OI :

with Cllr John Cotton as Chair

C. <u>CHIEF OFFICER AND DEPUTY CHIEF OFFICER APPOINTMENTS.</u> DISMISSALS AND SERVICE CONDITIONS SUB-COMMITTEE

The Committee is requested to appoint the above Sub-Committee with the following Functions:-

- 1. To consider and determine the form of the employment contracts and other Terms and Conditions (including related structural issues) for the Chief and Deputy Chief Officer Posts as defined in the Constitution of the City Council.
- 2. To be responsible for making appointments to all posts falling within 1 above and to recommend to the Council the appointment of the Chief Executive.
- 3. To deal with all termination and disciplinary arrangements relating to Chief Officer and Deputy Chief Officer posts (including early retirement and the award of added years).

The Committee is requested to appoint the Chair and Members to the Sub-Committee as follows:-

The Leaders of the three main political parties (or their nominees) and two other members (or their nominees), subject to the proportionality rules and the Chief Executive as an advisor. Quorum is 3 Members to include the Leader of the Main Opposition Party or their nominee.

2022/2023		2023/2024	
Cllr Ian Ward	(Lab) (Chair)	Cllr John Cotton	(Lab) (or their nominee)
Cllr Brigid Jones	(Lab)	Cllr Sharon Thompson	(Lab) (or their nominee)
Cllr	(Lab)*	Cllr tbc*	(Lab)* (or their nominee)
Cllr Robert Alden	(Con)	Cllr Robert Alden	(Con) (or their nominee)
Cllr Jon Hunt	(Lib Dem)	Cllr Roger Harmer	(Lib Dem) (or their nominee)
*To be appointed de Directorate to which	•	*To be appointed de Directorate to which	•
		With Cllr John Cotto	on as Chair

D. PERSONNEL APPEALS (DISMISSALS) SUB-COMMITTEE

The Committee is requested to appoint the above Sub-Committee with the following Functions:-

- 1. To consider, with Delegated Power the appeals relating to the Dismissal of Council managed employees.
- 2. (the process to be followed by appellants shall be as laid down on the People Solutions website and in accordance with City Council's policy with no appeals being submitted direct to this body without first exhausting the prescribed HR process).
- 3. In hearing an appeal, the Sub-Committee shall not have the power to award financial compensation to any appellant.
- 4. The Sub-Committee shall have the right to determine whether appeals shall be dealt with, where appropriate, by means of written representations.
- 5. All meetings of the above Sub-Committee must be chaired by one of the three appointed Chairs of the Sub-Committee and a Quorum for the full Sub-Committee or an individual Panel hearing an appeal shall be 3. No appeal may be heard in the absence of a Quorum.
- 6. To authorise the Chair of the Sub-Committee or any Member thereof to give evidence at any Employment Tribunal should they be required to do so.
- 7. To recommend to the Council Business Management Committee and oversee any appropriate training and guidance being given to Members and Officers, as necessary, on how to manage Personnel Appeals.
- 8. To recommend to the Council Business Management Committee any appropriate or desirable improvements for dealing with the effective and efficient administration of future Personnel Appeals arising from case hearings.
- 9. To make any other recommendations to the Council Business Management Committee.

The Committee is requested to appoint the Chairs and Members to the Sub-Committees as follows in accordance with proportionality requirements

0000/0004

11 Members (7 Lab, 3 Con, 1 Lib Dem)

0000/0000

<u>2022/2023</u>		<u>2023/2024</u>	
Cllr Mick Brown	(Lab)	Cllr Mick Brown	(Lab)
Cllr Sir Albert Bore	(Lab)	Cllr Sir Albert Bore	(Lab)

Cllr Mahmood Hussain	(Lab)*	Cllr Mahmood Hussain	(Lab)
Cllr Basharat Mahmood	(Lab)	Cllr Basharat Mahmood	(Lab)
Cllr Bushra Bi	(Lab)	Cllr Bushra Bi	(Lab)
Cllr Mary Locke	(Lab)*	Cllr Mary Locke	(Lab)
Cllr Sybil Spence	(Lab)*	Cllr Sybil Spence	(Lab)
Cllr Darius Sandhu	(Con)	Cllr Darius Sandhu	(Con)
Cllr Kerry Brewer	(Con)	Cllr Kerry Brewer	(Con)
Cllr Rick Payne	(Con)	Cllr Rick Payne	(Con)
Cllr Penny Wagg	(Lib Dem)	Cllr Penny Wagg	(Lib Dem)
*Chairs		*Chairs.	

E. COUNCIL HOUSE CROSS PARTY WORKING GROUP

The above Working Group has been replaced with a Cross-party Steering Committee to drive forward the development of the Council House Complex as referred to in a report earlier in the meeting with the following Membership;-

2022/2023	2023/2024
Deputy Leader (Chair)	Councillor Sharon Thompson
Leader	Councillor John Cotton
Leader of The Conservative Group or nominee	
Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group or nominee	Councillor Paul Tilsley
(Paul Tilsley)	·
Cabinet Member for Education, Skills and Culture	Councillor Saima Suleman
Chief Executive/s Birmingham Museums Trust or	
nominee	
Assistant Director Communities, Culture	
Director, Inclusive Growth/Assistant Director	
Other key representatives of external	
organisations as required	

F. <u>CIVIC/CEREMONIAL CROSS PARTY WORKING GROUP</u>

The Committee is requested to note the above Working Group was appointed recently to develop criteria for the bestowing Honorary Freeman of the City titles and Freedom of the City privileges and to develop a criteria for considering requests for the use of the Coat of Arms, with the following members:-

5 Members (3 Lab, 1 Con, 1 Lib Dem)

2022/2023		<u>2023/2024</u>
Cllr lan Ward	(Lab)	Cllr John Cotton (Lab)
Cllr Mahmood Hussain	(Lab)	Cllr Mahmood Hussain (Lab)
Cllr Yvonne Mosquito	(Lab)	Cllr Yvonne Mosquito (Lab)
Cllr Robert Alden	(Con)	Cllr Robert Alden (Con)
Cllr Paul Tilsley	(Lib Dem)	Cllr Paul Tilsley (Lib Dem)