

VOLUME ATHE CONSTITUTION

Website Updated May 2015

.

Article 10 - District Committees and Ward Committees/Forums

This Article sets out details with regard to District Committees and Ward Committees consisting of the Members of that District or Ward.

10.1. Ten District Committees have been established by the Council and the relevant Ward Members have been appointed to serve on them:-

District Committee:		Area:	Members from the following Wards:
1.	Edgbaston	South	Bartley Green, Edgbaston, Harborne and Quinton,
2.	Erdington	North	Erdington, Kingstanding, Stockland Green and Tyburn
3.	Hall Green	East	Hall Green, Moseley & Kings Heath, Sparkbrook and Springfield
4.	Hodge Hill	East	Bordesley Green, Hodge Hill, Shard End and Washwood Heath
5.	Ladywood	Central	Aston, Ladywood, Nechells and Soho
6.	Northfield	South	Kings Norton, Longbridge, Northfield and Weoley
7.	Perry Barr	Central	Handsworth Wood, Lozells & East Handsworth, Oscott and Perry Barr
8.	Selly Oak	South	Billesley, Bournville, Brandwood and Selly Oak
9.	Sutton Coldfield	North	Sutton Four Oaks, Sutton New Hall, Sutton Trinity and Sutton Vesey
10.	Yardley	East	Acocks Green, Sheldon, South Yardley, Stechford & Yardley North

- 10.2 Ward Committees/Forums will be constituted in each District to encourage and facilitate dialogue, between the Council and local people within their Ward. Cabinet has delegated the functions, operational powers and duties to the relevant Ward Committee / Forum as set out in Volume B (B6).
- 10.3 The membership of District and Ward Committees shall consist of those Members elected to serve that District and that Ward. The co-option of up to five partner members without voting rights is permitted in respect of each District Committee. Once Committees have been established, only the City Council can dissolve them. The Member of Parliament for the District should be invited to attend Ward and District Committee as an observer with the right to speak and there will be no co-opted members of the Ward Committee. Where a Ward Committee does not exist, the functions, powers, duties and terms of reference rest with the relevant District Committee.

Page 2 of 4

EXECUTIVE POWERS DEVOLVED TO DISTRICT COMMITTEES

10.4 Cabinet has delegated the functions, operational powers and duties to the relevant District Committee(s) as set out in **Volume B (B6)**. These Terms of Reference may be amended by Cabinet from time to time to reflect the shape of the Future Council. District Committees have a right to consider and respond to consultations on planning briefs and frameworks and major development proposals. Any such responses are to be given to the Planning Committee for consideration at the appropriate time.

10.5 **Meetings**

Each District and Ward Committee shall meet at the start of each Municipal Year, and, thereafter usually bi-monthly, alternating between District and Ward Committees. District Committee Meetings will take place at the Council House or as may be necessary at some other central Birmingham location to be determined by the Chief Executive.

Executive Members will be appointed by each District Committee at the first meeting of the municipal year. Deputy Executive Members are elected at the same meeting for the purpose of substituting for the Chair if absent. In the event of a District Committee failing to appoint, the matter will be determined by the Leader of the Council. They will have a leadership responsibility for 'place' matters within their District including:

- (i) Effective discharge of the local executive remit, through delegations, of their District Committee.
- (ii) Production of a Community Plan out locally determined priorities and policies for approval by the District Committee.
- (iii) Attendance at Cabinet meetings to voice local matters in relation to the Executive decisions taken.
- (i) Attend Overview and Scrutiny to account for delegated responsibilities for the District Committee, and policy priorities as set out in policy statements and development plans.

Each District Committee will also hold an annual District Convention with input from community groups, partners and other stakeholders, to inform on District priorities arising from the Local Service Community Plans.

10.6 Quorum

- (a) The Quorum for a District Committee shall be 6 Elected Members.
- (b) The Quorum for a Ward Committee shall be 2 members.

Page 3 of 4

10.7 The Council will establish (or dissolve) Ward Committees on the recommendation of the Council Business Management Committee.

Page 4 of 4