EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF BIRMINGHAM CITY COUNCIL 24 MAY 2022



### MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF BIRMINGHAM CITY COUNCIL HELD ON TUESDAY 24 MAY 2022 AT 1555 HOURS IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNCIL HOUSE, BIRMINGHAM

PRESENT:- Lord Mayor (Councillor Muhammad Afzal) in the Chair.

### Councillors

Akhlaq Ahmed Deirdre Alden Robert Alden Ragib Aziz Gurdial Singh Atwal David Barker David Barrie **Baber Baz** Matt Bennett Jilly Bermingham Marcus Bemasconi Sir Albert Bore Nicky Brennan Kerry Brewer Marie Bridle Zaker Choudhry **Debbie Clancy** Liz Clements John Cotton Jack Deakin Adrian Delaney

Rob Grant Fred Grindrod Roger Harmer **Deborah Harries** Kath Hartley Adam Higgs Des Hughes Jon Hunt Mahmood Hussain Shabrana Hussain Timothy Huxtable Mohammed Idrees Zafar lobal Ziaul Islam Morriam Jan Kerry Jenkins Meirion Jenkins **Brigid Jones** Jane Jones Mariam Khan Saqib Khan

Izzy Knowles Narinder Kaur Kooner Chaman Lal Bruce Lines Ewan Mackey Basharat Mahmood Majid Mahmood Rashad Mahmood Lee Marsham Karen McCarthy Shehla Moledina Gareth Moore Simon Morrall **Richard Parkin David Pears** Miranda Perks Rob Pocock Julien Pritchard Hendrina Quinnen Lauren Rainbow Darius Sandhu Shafique Shah Rinkal Shergill Ron Storer Saima Suleman Sharon Thompson Paul Tilslev Penny Wagg

Ian Ward Ken Wood Alex Yip Waseem Zaffar

## 

## NOTICE OF RECORDING

19641 The Lord Mayor advised that the meeting would be webcast for live and subsequent broadcasting via the Council's internet site and that members of the Press/Public may record and take photographs except where there are confidential or exempt items.

### **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

19642 The Lord Mayor reminded Members that they must declare all relevant pecuniary and non-pecuniary interests arising from any business to be discussed at this meeting. If a disclosable pecuniary interest was declared a Member must not speak or take part in that agenda item. Any declarations would be recorded in the minutes of the meeting.

### **MINUTES**

It was moved by the Lord Mayor, seconded and-

#### 19643 **<u>RESOLVED</u>**:-

That the Minutes of the meeting held on 15 March 2022 having been circulated to each Member of the Council, be taken as read and confirmed and signed.

#### APPOINTMENT TO THE ROLL OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

The following report of the Council Business Management Committee was submitted:-

(See document No. 1)

It was moved by the Leader, Councillor Ian Ward, seconded and-

# <u>RESOLVED</u>:-

19644

- 1.) That the City Council admit Councillors Muhammad Afzal, Mohammed Aikhlaq, Tahir Ali, Paulette Hamilton, Mike Leddy, John Lines, Chauhdry Rashid, Carl Rice, Mike Sharpe and Mike Ward to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen.
- 2.) That City Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman Posthumous on the late Councillors Mohammed Fazal, Neil Eustace, Raymond Hassall and Penny Holbrook and authorise the Lord Mayor and the Leader of the Council to present the Posthumous title to the families.

The Council rose at 1605 hours.