

District Governance Statement for 2015/16

Name of District ERDINGTON

Comprising of: Erdington Ward, Kingstanding Ward, Stockland Green Ward and Tyburn Ward

Decision Making

1. District Committee:

District Chair – Councillor Josh jones (elected at the first meeting annually.)

District Vice-Chair Councillor Mick Brown (elected at the first meeting annually)

Members:

Councillors Robert Alden, Bob Beauchamp, Gareth Moore (Erdington Ward)

Councillors Des Hughes, Gary Sambrook, Ron Storer (Kingstanding Ward)

Councillors Penny Holbrook, Josh Jones and Mick Finnegan (Stockland Green Ward)

Councillors Lynda Clinton, Mick Brown and Mike Sharpe (Tyburn Ward)

Co- opted Members:

West Midlands Police, West Midlands Fire Service

Meetings:

These are held at the Council House at 2.00PM on the following dates for 2015/16:

- 30 June 2015 26 January 2016

- 27 October 2015 29 March 2016

- 24 November 2015

a) Work Programme:

The Erdington District Committee's overall purpose is to promote democratic accountability and support councillors in their place leadership role, drive forward service improvement, influence service budgets and resources to align with local needs, facilitate community empowerment, promote active citizenship and support local partnership working. All of this is with the ultimate desired outcome of improving the

economic, social and environmental wellbeing of local people and neighbourhoods.

In 2015/16 its work programme will include:

- holding a district convention to identify the needs and priorities in the District
- producing a District community plan by March 2016 in conjunction with local partners
- working with local partners to deliver identified priorities
- providing a local dimension to performance monitoring, service improvement and commissioning of services.
- holding a neighbourhood challenge exercise on a topic chosen by District members.
- supporting third sector organisations to grow / flourish and meet local needs

2. Ward Meeting /Committee's

- a) Erdington Ward Councillors Robert Alden (Chair), Bob Beauchamp, Gareth Moore
- b) Kingstanding Ward Councillors Des Hughes, Gary Sambrook (Chair), Ron Storer
- c) Stockland Green Ward Councillors Penny Holbrook, Josh Jones and Mick Finnegan (Chair)
- d) Tyburn Ward Councillors Lynda Clinton, Mick Brown and Mike Sharpe(Chair)

Ward Meeting dates / venues:

These are held at various venues within each Ward and at dates determined by the Relevant ward chair. Dates / times and venues are available from the district office on 464 8784 or the Council wed pages (follow link.)

3. Partnerships *

- a) Erdington District Advisory Group chaired by Councillor Jones and oversees all partnership activity
- b) Erdington District Job and Skills Group Cllrs Sharpe & Beauchamp nominated to this group
- c) North (erdington / Sutton Coldfield) Community Safety Group Cllr Clinton nominated to this group
- d) Erdington District Health & Wellbeing Group Cllrs Brown & Moore nominated to this group
- e) Erdington District Clean & Green Group Cllrs Alden & Hughes
- f) Erdington District Housing Panel Cllrs Holbrook & Sambrook nominated to this group

^{*}Details of meeting dates / times are available from the Erdington District Head,07766924147

The Neighbourhood Challenge:

Erdington District Members agreed collectively to put 'clean and green issues' under the spotlight including parks maintenance, street cleanliness, refuse collection and recycling. The aim is to better understand service standards across the District and to explore ways of making further improvement and raising public perceptions given the more limited resources available.

District Convention:

Saturday 28 November 2015 at St Barnabas Church>

Taking 'Cradle to Grave' as the theme of the convention and examining the needs of local people at various ages and stages of life to see what council and partners could contribute toward better meeting those needs.

Councillor Champions -Please adapt and make District specific

Corporate Parenting – Councillor Mick Brown

Heritage and Culture – Councillor Mike Sharpe

Community Safety - Councillor Lynda Clinton

Section 33 - Councillor Finnegan

Youth Champion – Cllr Josh Jones

Information access details

Community Governance manager – INSERT name and email address or mailbox

INSERT link to the website page for Democracy for access to webcasts of district meetings

INSERT link to the website page for Democracy for access to Ward meeting details ,agenda's and action notes

